stuberosum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The one in which Mike Tyson is FASCINATING

Not too long ago watched this show:

...

As It Happened - The Fight: Part 1 - The Rules Of The Ring (60 mins , Rated: PG)
Genre: Documentary

This four-part series captures all the excitement of heavyweight championship fight night, negotiating 300 years of history to give the lowdown on the greatest fighters, the most brutal bouts and all the headline-grabbing issues that surround the sport. Part one looks at how Mike Tyson's raw aggression and unconventional tactics in and out of the ring have bought him fame, fortune and ignominy in just about equal measures. Tyson, more than any other boxer, exemplifies the origins of the fight game in the bare-knuckle era, when it wasn't uncommon for fighters to gouge and kick their opponents. Boxing was civilised and legitimised in the late 19th century as a spectator sport, moving from semi-lawless bare-knuckle contests to the codified and regulated multi-million dollar events of today. From John L Sullivan's incredible 75-round title fight with Jake Kilrain in 1889 to Mike Tyson's defeat by Lennox Lewis in 2002, this is the story of how boxing's bad boys remain its greatest folk heroes.

...

Was really good. Fascinating really the raw power and I guess brutality of the boxers and the differences between them and other boxers - all lost to thinking boxers, scientific boxers, younger ones after they had past their prime and basically their animal hunger to dominate in the ring. It wasn't just that the other was better than them on the day, which they were but ... You just KNEW that at their prime, when they were still hungry for it, when they were still fight fit and not trying to be a hollywood star/ on the alcohol and lots of food diet/ mentally unbalanced.

Just want to see a rematch, with the younger/better version of the fighter. Something satisfying about the victory of pure ability over thought, power over agility, agression over patience.

Sad to watch though so fleeting was the win the benefits. Still legends to some degree now and I guess they would still have had fame for the rest of their lives and some benefit but the really intoxicating stuff only lasted so long...

Hearing about Mike Tyson was the saddest though, not sure if saddest is the right word. An possible insight perhaps? Not to say that the man wasn't practically an animal in the ring and likely outside too but it did look like Don King fucked him up in the head, probably not too difficult to do but the loss of his original trainer just before he became heavy weight champ would really seem to have made a difference in his life. A stabilising part of his life was gone, not controlling part exactly but someone who smoothed the waters of his soul to wax a little lyrical :)

I can't say that he isn't pretty much completely screwed up in the head at this point or that he didn't do the stuff that got him in jail but I guess he is kinda like a guard dog trained to fight by his master yes but also trained to rest and once that master was gone no one ever told him to rest again.

So he didn't.

He lived on full alert, fight or flight (or perhaps fight or fight) all the time, no rest, no peace. So he ran his energy down for nothing, ran on empty for ages, sapped him of his abilty to turn the agression back on in the ring cos it never went off so there was nothing left no switch to hit. Probably tried to turn it off himself eventually but didn't know how, was tormented with the thought that if he didn't know how to turn it off - how would he turn it back on? and he needed to be able to turn it on. That was WHO he was.

I dunno. one of the trainer guys from his first heavy weight champ time talked about him and was almost crying about him, almost cried about how thankful he was that Mike allowed him to be there in the ring when he won the title too.

And that lady he married, well I ain't saying she a gold digger haha but only a little laughter there. I think she probably fucked him up too in the words of the song "we want pre-nup, we want pre-nup" 8 months of marriage gets half of his.

Again I can't say he wasn't abusive to her though but still. Fuck knows how many millions she got for 8 months ... Way too short for her to have really wanted to be with him, ever.

Although the thought that Mike to turn on you and beat you is pretty terrifying. He could literally kill her in seconds in a moment of rage or even by accident.

Even so I really struggle to believe she wasn't in for it for the money.

I love the sound of that song though ... it makes me sad too, even more now that I have those above thoughts to go with it.

well now I have no idea what I was talking about cos I spent the last 10 minutes trying to find the film clip online.

got to get to bed soon so I can get up early tomorrow morning for the long train trip to church. Why do you hate me Cityrail with your trackworks for three weeks and hello bus trip on the weekends :(

mouse battery dying

only one working lightbulb to share between my room and the lounge room after the globes broke last night and I forgot about it til it was too late to get the shops to buy some more.

think I might leave it out here for now

how do those flies get inside those covers? Are they like the elephant graveyard except for flies? They have got to work pretty hard to get there and I dunno how long they would last in there.

also the the little thing you hold on to zip up on one of my shoes fell off last week so now I have a twisted up paper clip in there - big thumbs up to that. Happened on the same day the roller shutter at work got completely screwed up. That was plenty of fun .. think I might have done every muscle in my back trying to get in and out of the front door this last couple of days. At least it should get fixed monday or at latest tuesday.

but yeah that show was good appealed to the part of me that loves it when talent wins - wins just on pure ability, something about youth when you have so much that you don't have to think, you do get beaten except those exceptionally talented but even those who aren't can go a long way but there always comes a point where you have to think more than you just do and quite frankly that is just so tiring I can't help but long for the days where I just did and it worked.

I don't want to have to try sometimes, and the more I feel that way the more I feel that way the more it grows I think. Need to figure out how to let some of that pressure off.

Where is my master to tell me to rest?

Did I ever have one? I know I been looking around for those who could be one because when I was away I looked around and saw all these people around me, good people, wise, lovely, worthy of respect, whatever ... but I didn't feel there was a single one at whose feet I would want to sit and learn or should that be taught. Receiving not doing.

Confusing really, especially as I hadn't even thought I was looking for such a person.

I love that little kids book about a bird looking for their mother. I can only assume it was called "are you my mommy?" or mummy maybe depending on its origin. But the phrase "are you my mommy?" resonates with what I was just saying.

Also I love when the bird askes the big steam shovel or whatever it was called - something that dug big holes and I am SURE steam was in the name - are you my mommy? Hehe!

I think it just made noises. Poor baby bird :(

I am looooving the latest Beaver and Steve story arc. If like 5 comics can really be called a story arc. So cool Hehe

I'm done now I think.

Quick run before I start again ... don't worry about me I'll catch up, if I *sob* don't please tell my Mum I love her ...

and not too give me THAT much taco mince next time, I mean honestly does she think I want to eat it every day for a couple of weeks? Reheated? Should know me better than that.

(ok just one more listen to Gold Digger)

Its now 11:16 - says I started 9:52 I really need to learn to focus, either that or to type with more than one finger

nah

she aint messing with no broke, broke

9:52 p.m. - Saturday, Jan. 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dependant
blondeinside
yahweh
big-red-bow
malmsey
awkwardpause
someonemaybe
mindriot
spudbutter
pink-pearls
chikyblonde
stitchfish
diatribes
jrladrun
bluperspex
pernickety