stuberosum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

there is nothing greater than love

I made a new friend a couple of days ago at the Bible Study thing .. and it was her birthday yesterday or rather the day before and I ended going and having a meal with her as something of a day late birthday thing for her and it was nice ... talked a fair bit ... most of the times I meet people there seems to be a lot of talking involved ... and at one point I said to her "there is nothing greater than love" or something like that ... was on my talk about my philosophy kinda thing at that point ... and it was like I was trying to explain what I believed and how I tried to live and this phrase just came out ... which I had never thought before in my life except maybe in some kind of vague mental brushing over the point that means next to nothing ... at most a short road to travel to get to my actual point ... but once said it seemed so much an unspoken truth in my life and in how I think

what is greater than love?

what else can take something and change it completely without changing it at all?

what else can make pain or misery or minor annoyance or even a joy?

what other thing is there in life that is worth seeking after at the expense of love?

what would you not give up in preference to love?

maybe some unexciting things like security and such ... but such is love's essence that once tasted ... never forgotten ... always sought after ... and the words roll on and you come to the thought that ... God is love ... I hadnt thought how well that works .. and wow that kinda means that all those things I just said and thought apply to HIM

not so much that I thought they would ... more that I realised they did .. then realised how apprpriate that is ... how well He chose to say I AM LOVE ... taste and you shall see that it is good ... once He touches you you are not the same even if nothing has really changed and you never forget

and He is SO positive too ... He looks for so little ... like with Sodom and Gomorrah ... He looked only for 10 righteous people and the entire place would not have been destroyed ... but that is not 10 people who are not currently sinning .. not to my mind at least ... that is 10 people who are actively looking to be right with God ... whose heart is toward Him .. who are making those POSITIVE steps to Him not just not sinning ... not just offering sacrifices ... obedience in coming to Him ... 10 people looking for Him ... not 10 perfect people ... and He would have spared thousands of people who could not care less about Him, who lived their lives in ways that offended Him ... just to do what? save 10 people having to move out of Sodom and Gomorrah? Cos that was all that Lot and his family had to do and the place was destroyed because there was not a single .. or at least not 10 (including Lot and his family) pure part of the city ... would it not make sense to just cut your losses ... 10 in thousands? endure their sin and the sin they would lead/teach others to commit just to honour the 10 who sought Him? but 10 non-sinners where worth nothing ... 99% of the place could have been non-sinners and they would not have mattered ... luke warm ... spit them out of His mouth ... worse than the sinners .. not sure how ... perhaps in their self righteousness that said I am OK, I do not need God ... I have done nothing (much) wrong so therefore I am right(eous) ... nope

I think this is why God loves on us so ... sin or dont sin if He knows our hearts are toward Him He will save us for that righteous portion of our beings ... whether that be 10 or 100,000 ... not quantity or even quality ... just existence that is desired

you know I think God was SO PROUD of Abraham when he just kept asking ... what if 50 ... 45 ... 40 ... 30 ... 20 ...10 .... could see a reflection of himself in there ... a reflection of love

brings tears to the eyes

7:58 p.m. - Friday, Jun. 29, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dependant
blondeinside
yahweh
big-red-bow
malmsey
awkwardpause
someonemaybe
mindriot
spudbutter
pink-pearls
chikyblonde
stitchfish
diatribes
jrladrun
bluperspex
pernickety